Warwickshire Golf

The Charles Heeley Challenge Bowl

The Charles Heeley Challenge Bowl is a charity golf event which has been taking place in the Midlands for nearly one hundred years. The competition was inaugurated in 1925. Two sisters, Hilda and Connie Widdowson, who were members of Walmley Golf Club, arranged for the proceeds of some of the club competitions to support a school for disabled children at which they both taught. 

The Challenge Bowl was presented to the sisters by Mr Charles Heeley, a fellow member of Walmley Golf Club, to enable them to widen their charitable efforts to involve golf clubs throughout the Midlands.

Since 1963 the final has taken place at a different venue each year, alternating between the counties of: Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire & Herefordshire. The host club chooses the charity to be supported.  Over the years, an amazing £350k has been raised for various charities.

Participating clubs hold a qualifying Stableford competition and the players with the best score in Division 1 (Handicap Index Limit up to 24.4) and Division 2 (Handicap Index Limit 24.5 to 40.0) qualify to play in the final.

The winner of The Charles Heeley Bowl is the player with the best Stableford score over 18 holes.  There are also prizes for the best Gross Stableford score and prizes for Best Net and Second Net Stableford scores in both Division 1 and Division 2.

The President, Camilla Heeley Manley, Great Granddaughter of Charles Heeley attends the final to present the Trophy each year.

Final:       Thursday, 26 September 2024           
Venue:    Rugby  Golf Club, Warwickshire

click here for the 2024 poster

click here for Moseley Golf Club website to see the 2023 Results


Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.